Handel Four Coronation Anthems

Contents: Zadok the priest, Let thy hand be strengthened, The King shall rejoice, My heart is inditing
Item: OUP-3352582

Typical Availability:

Usually in stock but please check!

£12.50 inc VAT

Teachers: Login in with your school email address to browse our Education Prices without obligation.

We Think

These four splendid anthems were composed for the coronation of George II in October 1727 and have since retained a position at the heart of the English choral tradition.

The popular anthem Zadok the priest has been performed at all subsequent coronations, and Handel's other contributions to the royal occasion - Let thy hand be strengthened, The King shall rejoice, and My heart is inditing - have the same majestic grandeur, with affecting contrasts between different sections of the sacred texts.


Zadok the priest 
Let thy hand be strengthened 
The King shall rejoice 
My heart is inditing

Brief Specs

Composed for SATB and orchestra, Vocal score with piano reduction, Moderately difficult, Duration 5mins, 12mins, 8mins, 11mins, Orchestration: 2 ob, 2 bn, 3 tpt, timp, strings, cont.

Weight and Dimension

Weight: 0.00 KGS

Size (WxHxD): x x 0 cm